The Charter Women’s Award

Charter Women celebrate 25th anniversary in 2010

Charter Women's Club

FRONT ROW: Anne Mirvish, Jeanie Hersenhoren, Lela Wilson, Margaret McBurney, Connie Briant, Jean Edwards, Jessica Steven
BACK ROW: Mary Tuck Corelli, Di Hore, Janet Rough Young, Zora Buchanan, Diane Kruger, Margaret Ludwig, Mary-Jane Large, Kathleen Hermant, Harriet ‘Sis’ Weld

This award, in recognition of the Charter Women of The Arts and Letters Club of Toronto and their outstanding contributions to the Club’s artistic disciplines, has been established by the Foundation to provide an annual award of $500 to support exceptional Canadian women artists.

Initial funding has been provided through donations by Club Charter Women Zora Buchanan, Jean Edwards, Pat Fairhead, and Mary George, former Club President and current Foundation President Marianne Fedunkiw and Foundation Director Catherine Hurley.

The Foundation is working with Club Charter Women with the goal of making the first award in 2021.